Belay Parka - MH mountain guide vs Columbia Heatzone 1000

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
emiretsk

Belay Parka - MH mountain guide vs Columbia Heatzone 1000

by emiretsk » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:04 pm

Hi,

Looking to buy a Belay parka that can be used for belaying as well as backpacking in colder weather. I'm just getting into climbing and camping in colder conditions so I'm looking for something versatile.
My two options so far are last season versions of:
1) https://www.mountainhardwear.com/mens-g ... 16581.html
2) https://www.columbiasportswear.ca/en/he ... 13190906:s

Any advice on those, or on picking a parka in general?

Thanks!

no avatar
emiretsk

Re: Belay Parka - MH mountain guide vs Columbia Heatzone 100

by emiretsk » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:55 pm

As I said I'm fairly new to this and am not 100% aware of all possible conditions I'll encounter, and the tradeoffs I'll need to make (water resistance vs warmth vs size/weight, being able to layer on top easily, etc. ).

In terms of possible trips I would do:
- A few day trip to Adirondack in Dec or March
- A 1 week trip in BC or Candian Rockies in the summer or shoulder seasons.

I suppose that means anywhere between slashy 0c degrees and to -10c, with a possibility of dropping to -20c at some point. I also already have fairly warm mid layers (Patagonia R3, and MH Nitrous) as well as a decent ski jacket. So my main use case is packable, warm enough for -20. However, my understanding is that another important feature of a belay jacket is the ability to layer it on top of existing clothing that could be wet.

So in terms of versatile:
- Warm enough for the occasional -20c
- Will function reasonably well if I have to layer it over existing layers in slashy/wet conditions
- Can be used both as belay parka as well as a regular packable jacket for winter backpacking